Thursday, January 31, 2013

Darn Technology

We have had a few set backs with the electronics in our house. We had 2 laptops that decide to die within about a week of each other. One was getting quite old anyway, so we weren't too shocked there. The other was a 4.5 month or so old HP laptop. I put it down to go eat, and when I came back about an hour later to finish up whatever I had been doing it just didn't work anymore. Went online to see about warranty/customer support and they claim we have had our computer much longer. According to them, it was registered quite some time before we ever had it in our possession (about 9 months before). We, of course, have no receipt and my husband bought it in Greece, so there is no chance of us getting a copy of the receipt from the store. Took the hard drive out, and we will likely try to sell it for parts. Then that will be that with laptops for us, unless a very valid reason to have one comes up again.

That whole debacle left us with one desktop and an iPad. Well, the desktop left for a bit, so I was left with an iPad. Which is great for a lot of things, but as your primary computer, not so great. It is very inconvenient to write long posts on, or do anything too in depth. I couldn't upload my photos from my camera either. That's why I hadn't posted anything in awhile. It was a huge pain doing the one post I did do from my iPad (the Birchbox post), so I decided to just hold off.

I will say I have learned a lot from this. The desktop is one of the 'build it yourself' varieties. My husband had just about enough spare pieces around to build this second computer. I got to finish assembling it myself. Proud to say it is fully functional and I troubleshot all the problems I ran into on my own (or with a lot of help from Google and YouTube, but hey I did it). I think one or two more things will make it just about perfect. Already missing my SD card reader and debating on a webcam. The iPad is okay for Skype, but difficult with a wiggling toddler who wants to get 2 inches from it and likes to push the red phone touch screen button frequently.

Anyway, I have a few things to post about. I'll try to spread them out a bit instead of just bombarding the blog with posts.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

First Birchbox

Finally got my first Birchbox. This is November's box though. Yes, they mailed them late due to Hurricane Sandy, but it still took a long time to reach me. It mailed December 1 and arrived January 14, so 6 weeks. Not a huge deal as it is just a box of samples and nothing I was going to 'die' without. However, I do miss out on a few Birchbox perks like getting points for reviewing my samples within 30 days of the mailing date and getting free shipping on any of the items I try from that month's box. Yes, I can still buy them, but the little extras would be nice too. Since the December box shipped just a few days later, I'm hoping it'll show up in the next few days too.

For November, I got a sample of Juicy Couture Viva la Juicy La Fleur fragrance. It's described as 'a feminine blend of wild berries, mandarin, and waterlily'. I thought the waterlily was overpowering though. As berries were listed first that was the smell I was hoping would be prominent. It was just too strong and my husband didn't like it either. With fragrance, I'd like if its something he likes too.

ModelCo Fibre Lashxtend lengthening mascara. This was a full sized sample that retails for $24, so in a way I made $14 from this box. I received it in black. It has little fibers in it that will cling to your lashes and make them fuller and longer. I brushed it onto the back of my hand, and you really can see the fibers. I'm wondering if they will clump. I'm also wondering what is in it. I did a brief search and just came up with a bunch of reviews, but no mention of ingredients or what these fibers they used are.

One Love Organics Aromatic Body Serum. I got a sample size in the Rose scent. The smell is great. Not too strong but also enough to where its not disappearing quickly after application. I looked up the ingredients in this one, and it really does all appear to be organic and natural. I don't feel it moisturizes any better than some of my other natural lotions for the price of $39. I can buy a lot of my other stuff for that price.

Oscar Blandi Pronto Texture & Volume spray. I haven't used it yet, but did spray some on my hair before a shower just because. It had a nice smell for a hair spray and didn't feel sticky. Something else I'd like to look at ingredients for though.

Then the last item was a food sample. I got a SoyJoy cranberry bar. I won't lie, this one is just going to hit the trash. No one here eats cranberry, or even likes the flavor. They are gluten free though if anyone is interested in finding a gluten free snack.

Didn't feel like I got anything I can't live without this month. I guess I will see what the next box holds and go from there. There aren't many sample boxes that will ship FPO.





Monday, January 7, 2013

Got my Juicy!

It's been 2 years since I purchased a new purse. I know for some that's not a huge deal, but before that I was getting a new one at least a couple times a year. I just love having a new purse for whatever reason. My husband on the other hand, isn't such a fan of this habit. Especially since I do like the get the more expensive bags most of the time.

For Christmas, we each got some checks and cash. I decided to use some of mine to get a new purse and wallet. I really did need a new wallet. The one I had was fraying and starting to rip at the seam. The zipper also stuck every once in awhile.

I started looking around online for ideas, and saw a Daydreamer bag pinned on Pinterest. I just kept thinking about it, so decided that was the bag I was going to get. I looked on eBay and such, but decided to just order directly from their website. They were having a 40% off sale at the time too.

I got the Nylon Daydreamer in Black. I see there are more colors there now though. There was only black and the fuschia when I purchased.



 I usually avoid anything with gold, but this is so little and so subtle that it doesn't bother me. I picked a nylon over the velour Daydreamer because I figured it'd be easier to wipe down should anything like juice or half eaten crackers get smeared on it. There is a zippered pocket and a slip pocket on each side. Great for phones and things like chapstick that you often want to grab quickly. My only issue is the big gaping opening in the center. There are no dividers. Just the small zippered pocket and 2 small slip pockets. There is plenty of room for cloth diapers and toddler stuff though. I just need to find an organizer/divider thing to slip into it, so I'm not digging in the bottom of my bag for keys or something more important like fruit snacks and crackers.

Then the wallet I purchased is no longer available on their site. I really like it for the most part. It's long enough for bills to fit into it. My last wallet wasn't long enough and I had to fold cash up in order for it to close. This left it very fat since money was always waded up. There also weren't very many slots for cards, which isn't an issue with this new wallet. I only have 2 complaints about it. The first I have is that some of the 'scales' are a little peeled up along the fold. I'd be more upset if I had paid full price, but it was already reduced and the extra 40% off. It isn't really noticeable either. I just happened to notice it while I was holding it.  The second, there is no thumb hole to slide your ID in and out. It's a little hard getting my military ID in and out. I have to get it out about 4 times whenever we leave the house, so it's a bit of a pain. I'm hoping the slot loosens up some and it's not such a nuisance soon. That or I may pick another slot for my ID and just have my driver's license in the clear window since no one ever asks to see that one here.

 




Shipping was good. The bag arrived very well package. It took me awhile to get all the paper and protective foam off of it, but that's okay if it meant it arrived without getting banged up. Since it was during the holidays, the shipping to FPO took about 2 weeks, but that's still pretty impressive.

Thursday, January 3, 2013

Christmas Cookies!

 Amara and I made Christmas cookies recently. We made my favorite sugar cookies. I don't much care for the hard ones you usually cut out with the cookie cutters and frost. The recipe I use is my grandmother's (and her grandmother's before her, not quite sure how far back it goes). It makes light, fluffy cake-like sugar cookies. Then you top them with Christmas colored sugar or sprinkles. The cookies are great warm, cool, with milk, by themselves, and even freeze very well to save for holiday events later on in the month. They are also much easier to whip up and decorate than the cookie cutter ones that you spend an eternity frosting to look pretty. It also just feels like Christmas to me since we made these cookies every single year as kids. You could easily adjust these to whatever holiday you'd like by changing the sprinkles you use, but I generally save these as special Christmastime cookies. I know this post is a little late too. I meant to get it up before Christmas, but life got hectic.

Sugar Cookies
3 eggs
1 cup Crisco
1 and 1/2 cup sugar
1 cup buttermilk ( or substitute with 1 cup milk plus 1 teaspoon white vinegar because who has buttermilk?)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of table salt
4 cups flour
2 tablespoons vanilla extract

It doesn't have any mixing order directions. I usually cream the Crisco and sugar. Then add the eggs and vanilla. Then pour in the buttermilk (or substitute), and lastly the dry ingredients. That's the order most other recipes use, so figured it was a good strategy. I've done it randomly too, and they always turn out good.

Preheat oven to 375

Then drop them by the tablespoon full onto a cookie sheet. Decorate with your choice of sprinkles or colored sugar. Bake for 10-12 minutes. They are delicate cookies and can burn quick, so set your timer for 9 or 10 minutes and watch them closely






Some of ours got A LOT of sugar on them due to my little helper, but they were still delicious and just gave her that much more of a sugar buzz lol!





Nomming down on her hard work. Then just looking like she is about to get into some trouble...