That said, only one girl has passed her minimum skills test. You have to pass this test to pick your derby name and number. More importantly, you have to pass to be able to bout and hit. I've taken one try at the test. I passed the written test with a 100%. I passed everything on the skills portion too, but the 25 in 5. You have to do 25 laps around the track in 5 minutes. This means you need to be doing laps in 12 seconds, or less. I average 11.7 for the first 15 or so laps, and then slow down. My latest time was 5:20, so very close to getting it.
This means I'm also very close to needing to pick my name and number out, and I haven't the slightest idea what to do. The name also has to be original. I'll have to go through the registered list and see if there is anything too close to what I want.
![]() |
| I'm front and center in this pic. |
Thought this would be a good getting to know you for the blog too since it's still fairly new, and I've just posted a lot of reviews up to now. They can be personal questions or derby related ones. Just nothing too raunchy or inappropriate please. I'll just skip over anything I feel isn't meant to be public knowledge. Our team is also pretty family oriented. My kid goes with me to practices and team events, as do quite a few other kids. We are also a team on a military base, so need to keep names on the cleaner side. At lest in my opinion we should. If you ask a question, make sure to subscribe so you see the answer post go up, and can submit a name idea if you've got one.

Do you want to use something that goes with your personality? Or a favorite color? You could use Crimson or Ivory or something like that with something else. Or do you want to use something to go with height? I know there some cool nicknames to go with that, too. Not really a Q&A to get to know you but I think I already know you. ;-)
ReplyDeleteWhat position are you?
ReplyDelete